Justin Bellido Firm With Minnesota Commitment, Wants To Be ‘Best Wide Receiver In The Big Ten’

Back on April 13, Brooklyn (NY) Erasmus Hall 2020 wide receiver Justin Bellido committed to Minnesota over offers from Rutgers, Syracuse, Boston College and others.

Over two months later, and Bellido’s pledge to PJ Fleck’s program has never been stronger, and he hasn’t once looked back and second-guessed his decision.

“There’s this feeling you got being around the coaching staff and the players that I’ve never experienced before,” Bellido told Beasts Of The East when asked why he picked Minnesota. “It was just pure excitement. And then you have a coach like Coach Fleck, it’s just amazing. He’s a coach who brings excitement and is just pumped up all the time. Who wouldn’t want to be around him?”

Fleck’s experience as a player at Bellido’s position, as well as the rest of the staff that will be coaching him, is something that really resonated on his official visit.

“Being that Coach Fleck played in the league as a smaller receiver, it relates to me and the track I’m on,” he explained. “I’m a 5-foot-9.5-inch receiver who has dreams of playing in the league as well. Coach Simon is also a great coach as well. I was able to sit in the film room with him and just talk football. It’s great when you have a receivers coach at home that literally taught you almost everything about football (E-Hall OC KJ Stroud), and then you come to college and the coach is speaking the same language, it all clicked. Just being able to sit in the room with him, it was great, and I look forward to being coac hed by him. Coach Ciarrocca is another coach I was able to sit down in a room with and talk about everything, including the type of receiver I am and what I bring to the table. We spoke about how I play the game and how I see myself making an impact on the program.”

Following his commitment, Rutgers continued to try and recruit him, but Bellido has made it known to the “hometown team” that he’s a Gopher. He plans to get back to the Twin Cities next on July 27 for an unofficial visit, but is already looking forward to when he arrives on campus permanently.

“I plan on playing the slot at Minnesota,” Bellido told BOE. “I’m going to be a shift slot receiver that can break down the defense. I want to play all over, but I’m sure that will come as I get more comfortable with the offense.

“As far as my goals when I get to college, I’m going to be the best wide receiver in the Big Ten. That’s not really a goal, it’s something I’m sure of as I continue to work and sharpen my skills. For my goals for the team, I just want to win games and grow a close relationship with my teammates. I’m trying to get rings, a whole lot of them. I want to see my whole team winning.”

Finally, as Bellido nears his senior season with the Dutchmen, he spoke about what he’s been working on to become a more dominant player and prep for his college career.

“Speed,” he stated. “I’ve been working on improving my speed this off-season and trying to get bigger. It’s a different ball game in the Big Ten, and I need to be ready for that.”

Leave a comment